Visualizing Text in Virtual Reality: Erin Markel Senior Research Spotlight

Erin Graphic

I’m developing a mobile app that will create 3D graphs suitable for virtual reality from ROOT, a data analysis framework developed and used by CERN.

When I began the search for my mentor last fall, I was thrilled for the chance to take my interest in science to the next level (and of course, for the opportunity to leave school early). I didn’t hesitate to email three professors, and I was fortunate to receive responses almost immediately. Although, for the juniors who are currently contacting potential mentors, this was not the norm for everyone, so don’t be concerned if it takes more than a few weeks to find one!

I was nervous at first, but those feelings were quickly assuaged when I realized how welcoming professors were towards interested mentees. After meeting several who offered great opportunities, I decided to work with the first mentor I met. He was kind and accommodating towards my limited knowledge, and his encouragement continued to feed my interest in physics.

Looking back, it was my sophomore AP Physics class with Mr. Cox that initially inspired my interest, which I pursued further with my participation in the Physics of Atomic Nuclei (PAN) summer program at the University of Notre Dame. It was centered around nuclear physics and astrophysics, so when it came time to find a mentor for my research project, I focused my attention on UK’s Department of Physics and Astronomy. I planned to pursue a project in nuclear physics, but I chose a slightly different path and decided to expand my horizons with programming.

For me, one of the most exciting aspects of my project is the application of virtual reality (VR) to nuclear physics research. I’m developing a mobile app that will recreate three-dimensional graphs from ROOT , a data analysis framework developed and used by CERN , in a format suitable for VR viewers. Currently, I am working with Google Cardboard, an affordable VR viewer that is compatible with most mobile devices. The goal of my app is to improve the 3D visualization of nuclear physics data.

I worked on this throughout my junior year, which led to my science fair project, a mobile app that could graph data from a text file. I am currently working on improving some issues with the app – for example, the navigation of the graph was limited, and there was no way to transfer data directly from ROOT to the app. While my project’s applications are limited to a small field, it’s exciting because it shows the potential benefits 3D data visualization has for future research.

Erin Project Ex 1.png

Because my research involves purely programming, I neither have a traditional lab nor a hypothesis I am testing. This is a situation different from many of my peers, but I am thankful for the one-on-one time with my mentor. This has been extremely helpful in familiarizing myself with new software and languages, and while I am still climbing that learning curve, my mentor has helped grow my knowledge of computers throughout my year of research.

Erin Code.png

Overall, my mentor has made my capstone project a wonderful experience. I have learned how computers are complex yet critical tools, and I hope to continue to learn more about programming. I am still interested by physics and computer science, and no matter what I pursue in the future, I hope computer programming remains a part of my education and career.


Erin Science Fair

Erin Markel ‘18 is a Lexington, KY native. Her primary interest is science, and throughout her time in MSTC, she has especially enjoyed physics and chemistry. Her passion for the sciences is reflected in many of her extracurriculars such as Environmental Awareness Troop, Math Club, and the Greenhouse Club. Erin’s capstone research project under Dr. Christopher Crawford from UK Physics and Astronomy is being done in the field of computer science working with the 3-D visualization of nuclear physics data. From her research, she found success at the 2017 Kentucky State and Regional Science Fairs where she won the Intel Excellence in Computer Science Award and placed 2nd in her category at the state competition. Outside of school, Erin enjoys crafting, reading, and exploring the outdoors.

Favorite Class in School: Organic Chemistry
Favorite Book: Harry Potter series
Favorite Musician: Lorde
Favorite TV Show: Orphan Black
Secret Talent: Crochet
Favorite Food: Ravioli
Favorite Drink: Orange juice


Acknowledgements

Thanks to Erin Markel ‘18 for writing the piece and providing pictures and examples of her project. Special acknowledgment to Hannah Wang ‘18 for creating the graphic. Jina Park ‘20, Nicole Wong ‘20, Divya Sunderam ‘19, Megan Slusarewicz ‘19, Angus Maske ‘19, Ellora Kamenini ‘18 and David Ma ‘18 edited the article.

Leave a comment